The HSU is run by and for its members.

National Council is union’s supreme decision-making body and is comprised of delegates directly elected by members. Every four years, National Council elects several National Officers who, along with the Secretaries of the nine branches, comprise the HSU National Executive.


National Council is comprised of delegates from each branch of HSU. Every four years delegates are directly elected by members of each branch. The number of delegates for each branch is determined by the number of members in that branch. Only National Council has the power to alter the rules of the union and they are also responsible for electing the National Officers of the union.


National Secretary: Lloyd Williams
National Assistant Secretary: Tim Jacobson
National President:
Gerard Hayes
National Senior Vice President: Diana Asmar
National Junior Vice President: Kate Marshall
National Trustees: Vacant, Mark Sterrey


The HSU National Executive governs the union between National Council meetings. National Executive meets at least six times a year and is comprised of the National Officers of the union and the Secretaries of each of the nine HSU branches. In the case where a Branch Secretary is also elected as a National Officer, the Assistant Branch Secretary carries the votes of their branch.


Recent Campaigns

Change Aged Care

COVID-19: Support the Disability Sector

Paid Pandemic Leave for Our Healthcare Heroes